Plan Levels

Standardized Health Plans – Tiers

Starting in January 2014, health insurance plans will be standardized. There will be four standard coverage levels: Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze. There will also be a catastrophic plan available to certain qualified individuals.  A Platinum plan will offer the most coverage and lowest cost-sharing –  and the highest premium.  A Bronze plan will have the highest levels of cost-sharing and the lowest premium.

  • Platinum plans will cover 90% of a person’s health care costs.
  • Gold plans will cover 80% of a person’s health care costs.
  • Silver plans will cover 70% of a person’s health care costs.
  • Bronze plans will cover 60% of a person’s health care cost
  • Catastrophic plans will be available to only individuals under the age of 30 or those who are exempt from purchasing coverage. The out of pocket limits of $6350 individual and $12,700 family will apply.  No cost sharing is required.


A key component change in 2014 will be the amount of out of pocket you pay in a given year. Out of pocket limits will be capped at $6350 for an Individual and $12,700 for a Family. That means after you satisfy your limits from one of the above plans you will be covered at 100% for the rest of the year. This does not include your monthly insurance premiums.

To learn more click the next button below.

Obamacare Penalties