Essential Health Benefits

The 10 Essential Health Benefits That Must Be In Your Plan starting 2014

The Affordable Care Act or “Obamacare” ensures Americans have access to quality, affordable health insurance. To achieve this goal, the law ensures health plans offered in the individual and small group markets, both inside and outside of the Affordable Insurance Exchanges (Exchanges), offer a comprehensive package of items and services, known as “essential health benefits.”  Essential health benefits must include items and services within at least the following 10 categories:

The 10 Categories for Essential Health Benefits through Obamacare

  1. Ambulatory patient services
  2. Emergency services
  3. Hospitalization
  4. Maternity and newborn care
  5. Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment
  6. Prescription drugs
  7. Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
  8. Laboratory services
  9. Preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management, and
  10. Pediatric services, including oral and vision care

To learn more click the next button below.

Obamacare Plan Levels